SnapStream Forums

Go Back   SnapStream Forums > User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forums > Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forum
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2009, 12:20 PM
myktek myktek is offline
SnapStream Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,428
Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

With the Digital Transition a few days away, I thought I would go ahead and start a thread for questions.

If you are choosing to stick with an analog tuner and antenna, you will have to purchase a digital converter box, a trainable IR Blaster(USB-UIRT is recommended) and a HD antenna if your current one is not compatible. Setting up a Digital Converter Box

Your other options are to go with a different TV service like cable or satellite which may require additional hardware like an IR Blaster or you can just go out and purchase a HDTV/ATSC TV tuner card. This is assuming that your antenna is capable of picking up over the air HDTV/ATSC signals.

If you have any questions, please post them here.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q6600 | Asrock 775Dual-VSTA motherboard | 2GB Corsair CM2X1024-6400PRO XMS2 DDR2 PC6400 ram | GeCube Radeon X1950Pro 256mb GDDR3, HDCP Edition | 3 Hauppauge HVR-1600 | 1 SiliconDust HDHomeRun | 1 Dvico Fusion HDTV5 USB ......

Michael Bui

Snapstream Media, Inc.

http://www.snapstream.com/


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:24 PM
vidiot1985 vidiot1985 is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 352
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by myktek View Post
... Your other options are to go with a different TV service like cable or satellite which may require additional hardware like an IR Blaster or you can just go out and purchase a HDTV/ATSC TV tuner card. ...
Or something in between like an HDTV/QAM tuner card for unencrypted digital cable...

I keep hearing inklings of cable companies dropping analog and going with clear QAM for "standard cable" channels to free up bandwidth for more premium services. Maybe they've reached a crossover point with new customers due to the DTV transition that makes it worthwhile for them risk losing some revenue (or increasing costs from the free boxes they'd have to give out to some folks) from using more clear QAM vs. revenue gained from more premium services being available over the freed up bandwidth???

The more clear QAM there is, the more attractive BeyondTV is IMHO for those of us who want a better DVR than what we can get from the cable & satellite companies.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2009, 02:27 PM
DPR DPR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 28
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

Our local Fox affiliate (WDKY, Lexington KY) is changing their OTA digital channel from 4 to 31 Friday night at midnight.

Will this somehow flow properly to the BTV guide?

I'm not sure what if anything I would need to do on Saturday. Perhaps just a guide update? Or would I perhaps need to go into the setup wizard and reset something?

I have an OTA only setup using 4 tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2009, 02:51 PM
redlion4 redlion4 is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 344
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

Guide updates are my concern as well, for OTA channels that are switching frequencies at the transition. When / how quickly will this data be pushed out?
__________________
HTPC-PVR: Gigabype GA-F2A85X-D3H | AMD 65W A10-6700 3.7GHz X4 APU | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 1333 | ATI HD 8670D from APU, output 1920x1080 w/ 5.1 DD to Onkyo TX-NR709 via HDMI, Catalyst 13.12 drivers from AMD | 2 x Hauppauge HVR-2250: 1 OTA HD, 1 Clear QAM / Analog Cable | KWorld ATSC-110: OTA HD | SiliconDust HDHR 2xClear QAM | Seagate 2TB SATA (OS), 2TB LP SATA (Video) HDDs | BTV 4.9.2 (6323) | Firefly Remote | Win 7 Home x64 | Wired 1Gbps LAN
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2009, 04:27 PM
myktek myktek is offline
SnapStream Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,428
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

our guide provider is Zap2it, the last time the supposedly digital transition happened, they were prepared for it and had all the changes, which still went through and some TV stations decided not to change yet, so they should be ready again for this round of changes again.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q6600 | Asrock 775Dual-VSTA motherboard | 2GB Corsair CM2X1024-6400PRO XMS2 DDR2 PC6400 ram | GeCube Radeon X1950Pro 256mb GDDR3, HDCP Edition | 3 Hauppauge HVR-1600 | 1 SiliconDust HDHomeRun | 1 Dvico Fusion HDTV5 USB ......

Michael Bui

Snapstream Media, Inc.

http://www.snapstream.com/


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2009, 08:06 PM
RhythmDoctor RhythmDoctor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 54
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by myktek View Post
our guide provider is Zap2it, the last time the supposedly digital transition happened, they were prepared for it and had all the changes, which still went through and some TV stations decided not to change yet, so they should be ready again for this round of changes again.
Well, yes and no. In Philadelphia, the Feb. 11 channel changes were postponed, but for some reason Zap2it pushed out the new channel assignments on March 11. Since the postponement was supposed to be until June 12, I lost a bunch of recordings because the channels were remapped prematurely. I had to manually create a custom lineup to get things working. Zap2it undid their channel changes on March 19, so I was able to go back to their channel mappings. See details on this thread.

So now I have already created a custom lineup with the NEW mappings just in case Zap2it gets the timing wrong. I just need to know when to activate it.

So my question is, do these new channel mappings happen instantaneously with the digital changeover (tonight at 12:01 am), or at some other time? And if at some other time, when? After what happened last March, I am not sure I trust Zap2it to get the whole country changed over at precisely the right time.
__________________
HTPC Setup: Pentium D 950 (dual core) | 2.0Gig memory | WD 160 gig IDE | Seagate 2 TB SATA | Windows MCE 2005 | Integrated sound | XFX nVidia GeForce 7600 GS (passive cooling) | Ultra Vseries 600w power supply | two Hauppauge HVR-950 USB hybrid tuners (disabled since FiOS install) | Hauppauge HVR-1600 PCI tuner | BeyondTV 4.9.3 | Amplified antenna in attic (disconnedted) | Sony KDS50A2000 via DVI-HDMI cable

Last edited by RhythmDoctor; 06-11-2009 at 08:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2009, 12:05 AM
Darkk's Avatar
Darkk Darkk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 512
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

I would def wait till Saturday before re-scanning for new and changed channels.
__________________
Athlon BE2300 45watt processor, Crucial 2GB DDR2 6400PC (800Mhz), two 320GB SATA II drives as non-raid dedicated for video, Hauppauge WinTV PVR 1600 X2, 37" LG HDTV, Pioneer 16x DVD DL burner, GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-S2H AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard, Logitech RF wireless keyboard and mouse. Running Server 2003 X64 Enterprise SP2, RAID 5 with 5 320GB SATA II drives as Fileserver, 97 Watts Total at idle.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2009, 04:22 AM
RhythmDoctor RhythmDoctor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 54
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkk View Post
I would def wait till Saturday before re-scanning for new and changed channels.
I will wait, since analog TV is still transmitting right now. It was supposed to be turned off 6 hours ago, but someone in Philly apparently forgot to flip the switch.

As for "re-scanning," if you read the other topics on this subject, re-scanning cannot re-map the channels if Zap2it gets the assignments wrong. Setup just scans through the channels that Zap2it assigns - it cannot reassign different channels if Zap2it has the mappings wrong. You have to manually enter the assignments, because apparently re-scanning merely goes through the channels that Zap2it has assigned. See this thread on how to fix it by manually creating a custom channel lineup.
__________________
HTPC Setup: Pentium D 950 (dual core) | 2.0Gig memory | WD 160 gig IDE | Seagate 2 TB SATA | Windows MCE 2005 | Integrated sound | XFX nVidia GeForce 7600 GS (passive cooling) | Ultra Vseries 600w power supply | two Hauppauge HVR-950 USB hybrid tuners (disabled since FiOS install) | Hauppauge HVR-1600 PCI tuner | BeyondTV 4.9.3 | Amplified antenna in attic (disconnedted) | Sony KDS50A2000 via DVI-HDMI cable

Last edited by RhythmDoctor; 06-12-2009 at 05:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2009, 10:36 AM
Kamakzie Kamakzie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 58
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

Here in the Grand Rapids DMA the 2 channels switching frequencies aren't working. I had to do a manual rescan with no guide data. Hopefully they will fix it soon.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-12-2009, 10:47 AM
billj214's Avatar
billj214 billj214 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Talking Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

For myself in Phoenix AZ, I still have most of my channels working but 2 of them are not, Fox 10 and NBC 12. I did not recieve any Beyond TV notice that my lineup had changed so I assumed it has not yet changed. After a manual scan for guide updates there were still no changes.
So I guess we wait and see when Zap2it will send an update? Or if they did I would assume the 2 channels did not make the switch?

Just my 2 cents.


Update:
See http://www.fcc.gov/mb/engineering/maps/
Some channels are not switching until a few months later.
__________________
HTPC/Game PC
Intel QX9750 Extreme @ 4ghz|X48 Intel Motherboard|ATI HD4830|2GB DDR3 1600|Intel X25-V 40GB|2.5TB WD Black|Blu-Ray|ATI Theater 650|Hauppauge HVR1600|Windows 7 Ultimate|HT Omega Claro audio|Optoma EP739 Projector

Link PC
Core 2 Duo E6600|2GB DDR2 1066|8600GT|Windows 7 Pro

Link PC 2
P4 3.2 Northwood|2GB DDR|7900GT|Windows XP

Link PC3
P4 3.2 Northwood|3GB DDR|ATI X1600|Windows XP

Game PC
Core i7 870|4GB DDR3|Asrock P55 Deluxe|Intel X25-M 80GB|Nvidia GTX280|

Last edited by billj214; 06-12-2009 at 10:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-12-2009, 11:59 AM
koan00 koan00 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 663
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by vidiot1985 View Post
I keep hearing inklings of cable companies dropping analog and going with clear QAM for "standard cable" channels to free up bandwidth for more premium services. Maybe they've reached a crossover point with new customers due to the DTV transition that makes it worthwhile for them risk losing some revenue (or increasing costs from the free boxes they'd have to give out to some folks) from using more clear QAM vs. revenue gained from more premium services being available over the freed up bandwidth???
I think the users using premium services are far too few. They'd rather milk the sure thing and force everyone to use/rent a converter box. That is what RCN did in my area when the first digital transition deadline came close. I went from having 100+ clear qam (many HD) to having 3 SD clear qam.
__________________
SageTV 6.6 + SageMC (was: BTV/BTVLink v4.9.2)
Unsubbed all threads. PM me if you need something.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-12-2009, 12:35 PM
idontknow idontknow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

In the Chicago market, digital channel 2 and digital channel 7 have switched physical frequencies. The guide, even after a fresh download (1:30 P.M.), still maps to the old frequencies.

Michael Bui, when/how with this get refreshed?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-12-2009, 01:46 PM
RhythmDoctor RhythmDoctor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 54
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

Well, Philly did the switchover, so all the analog stations are gone. I just got done re-mapping my channels manually, because Zap2It's supplied guide channels have not changed yet, and the ones they sent down three months ago had errors.

I started by having my Sony TV's tuner scan for station changes. Then I was able to use my TV's diagnostics menu to determine the new physical channels that each station is now transmitting. With a little effort, I now have all my OTA channels mapped properly using the diagnostics from my TV.

Although there we LOTS MORE frequency changes than I expected, the good news is all my stations that had unreliable reception now have been moved to frequencies that hopefully get better reception.

For those in the Philly area who are interested, here are a few of the new mappings:

3.1 stays at physical channel 26
6.x moves from physical channel 64 to 6
10.x moves from physical channel 67 to 34
12.x moves from physical 50 to 12
17.x moves from physical 54 to 17
35.x moves from physical 34 to 35

Perhaps none of you care about this, but if you're having problems, this gives you the exact mappings you need to do to fix it. Click the link I showed above for instructions on how to manually set up a custom channel lineup.
__________________
HTPC Setup: Pentium D 950 (dual core) | 2.0Gig memory | WD 160 gig IDE | Seagate 2 TB SATA | Windows MCE 2005 | Integrated sound | XFX nVidia GeForce 7600 GS (passive cooling) | Ultra Vseries 600w power supply | two Hauppauge HVR-950 USB hybrid tuners (disabled since FiOS install) | Hauppauge HVR-1600 PCI tuner | BeyondTV 4.9.3 | Amplified antenna in attic (disconnedted) | Sony KDS50A2000 via DVI-HDMI cable

Last edited by RhythmDoctor; 06-13-2009 at 10:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-12-2009, 01:54 PM
RhythmDoctor RhythmDoctor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 54
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by koan00 View Post
I think the users using premium services are far too few. They'd rather milk the sure thing and force everyone to use/rent a converter box. That is what RCN did in my area when the first digital transition deadline came close. I went from having 100+ clear qam (many HD) to having 3 SD clear qam.
The FCC requires all cable companies to transmit everything that's available OTA in the clear. If you have HD stations OTA (and everyone does now), they are required to provide the same stations via clear QAM. If they cut you down to only 3 SD stations in the clear, they are violating FCC rules. You should do some Google searches to find the regulation, and call and complain.
__________________
HTPC Setup: Pentium D 950 (dual core) | 2.0Gig memory | WD 160 gig IDE | Seagate 2 TB SATA | Windows MCE 2005 | Integrated sound | XFX nVidia GeForce 7600 GS (passive cooling) | Ultra Vseries 600w power supply | two Hauppauge HVR-950 USB hybrid tuners (disabled since FiOS install) | Hauppauge HVR-1600 PCI tuner | BeyondTV 4.9.3 | Amplified antenna in attic (disconnedted) | Sony KDS50A2000 via DVI-HDMI cable
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-12-2009, 02:04 PM
koan00 koan00 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 663
Re: Beyond TV and the Digital Transition - June 12th, 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by RhythmDoctor View Post
The FCC requires all cable companies to transmit everything that's available OTA in the clear. If you have HD stations OTA (and everyone does now), they are required to provide the same stations via clear QAM. If they cut you down to only 3 SD stations in the clear, they are violating FCC rules. You should do some Google searches to find the regulation, and call and complain.
Yes they do comply. They are only required to carry the stations. Not necessarily the HD versions of those stations.
Edit: And I meant 3 SD in addition to the SD broadcast stations.
__________________
SageTV 6.6 + SageMC (was: BTV/BTVLink v4.9.2)
Unsubbed all threads. PM me if you need something.

Last edited by koan00; 06-12-2009 at 02:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Channel Lineup post DTV transition omelet Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link 31 06-16-2009 09:44 PM
Digital OTA transition Delayed to June 12 DonK SnapStream Discussion 16 02-19-2009 08:30 AM
February 2009, Digital cable, and my Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-500 MCE Buckshot Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forum 15 12-18-2008 07:34 AM
Digital transition in 2009: what does it mean for regular analog cable? rakeshagrawal SnapStream Discussion 63 05-09-2008 05:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2004-2009 Snapstream Media