SnapStream Forums

Go Back   SnapStream Forums > User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forums > Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forum
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2008, 01:25 AM
rodo rodo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10
QAM Signal Strength fades in and out

I have Comcast cable. I tried mapping the qam channels with an hvr1600 and was successful. The next day the channels were stuttering badly if working at all (although the qam sd channels still worked). So I went back to OTA hd. On Monday I tested the qam channels again in the wintv app and hd channels were working again.

I also tested the qam tuner in my HDTV when the hvr1600 couldn't make it work, and the tv qam tuner worked fine.

Is it possible that the signal strength faded on Sunday then came back again on Monday? I do have a powered amp hooked up before a 8 way splitter...but I also tried pulling a signal straight from the cable box outside and the problem was the same.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2008, 01:28 AM
rodo rodo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10
Re: QAM Signal Strength fades in and out

Also, the lower analog channels on the hvr1600 were fuzzy at the same time that the hd qam channels weren't working. Then when the hd qam channels came back, the lower channel analog fuzziness went away.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2008, 08:48 AM
TomXP411's Avatar
TomXP411 TomXP411 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 881
Send a message via Skype™ to TomXP411
Re: QAM Signal Strength fades in and out

That certainly sounds like a cable co. problem. The signal strength on cable will vary some, and there's every possibility that conditions like weather (temp or moisture) can cause problems with cables or connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2008, 04:51 PM
nmb123 nmb123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 31
Re: QAM Signal Strength fades in and out

FWIW, I had a similar problem and it turned out that the previous cable installer put in a splitter but hooked it up incorrectly. The incoming signal was connected to the output side on the splitter. Once that was corrected all was fine.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro (RTM), Asus p7p55D , Intel Core i7 860, Geforce 9800GT, HVR-2250, HVR-1600, BTV 4.9.2 Build 6323
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Signal Strength MrWolfinWV Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forum 1 02-25-2007 10:32 AM
OTA HD signal strength wayner Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forum 1 03-14-2006 02:34 PM
Viewing signal strength ? aroby Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forum 1 03-03-2006 12:32 PM
Signal strength steam23 System Builders 0 09-21-2005 09:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2004-2009 Snapstream Media