SnapStream Forums

Go Back   SnapStream Forums > General Discussion > Home Theater PC Discussion
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-17-2007, 07:14 PM

Record HDTV from ATT UVerse?

Is there a tuner card I can use with Beyond TV to record HDTV from the AT&T Uverse service? Or is the only HDTV I can record from over the air?
Old 10-18-2007, 09:32 AM
SnapStream Media

Re: Record HDTV from ATT UVerse?

nope, you'll have to use S-video for the time being
Core 2 Quad Q6600 | Asrock 775Dual-VSTA motherboard | 2GB Corsair CM2X1024-6400PRO XMS2 DDR2 PC6400 ram | GeCube Radeon X1950Pro 256mb GDDR3, HDCP Edition | 3 Hauppauge HVR-1600 | 1 SiliconDust HDHomeRun | 1 Dvico Fusion HDTV5 USB ......

Michael Bui

Snapstream Media, Inc.

http://www.snapstream.com/

Old 10-18-2007, 12:53 PM

Could you elaborate please? I'm not very good at this yet. s-video how? I currently have cable going into tuner card and output going from s-video (to composite) from the graphics card. I was thinking if I get an HDTV tuner I could connect from the Uverse box just instead of going from Uverse to HDTV. I thought I might need another graphics card too but it looks like Beyond TV only supports over the air or QAM - Is that correct and do you think that might change in the future?
Old 10-20-2007, 07:40 AM

Ok, I am capturing the regular TV (non HD). Is there an IR Blaster solution that is known to work with the Uverse product? I have Motorola set top box.

Thanks
Old 10-22-2007, 11:25 PM

I'm interested in recording HDTV and I have a technical question about the specifics - i.e. why isn't it possible to use a HDTV terminal the same way I currently use a normal cable box with a USB UIRT.

My cable provider sells HDTV cable boxes with DVI ports on the back.

http://www.shaw.ca/NR/rdonlyres/54D9...0/HD6200lg.jpg

Wouldn't we just be looking for a card with DVI in and a more powerful MPEG2 encoder (one that can handle the higher resolutions)?