SnapStream Forums

Go Back   SnapStream Forums > SnapStream Product Discussions > Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #121  
Old 10-24-2007, 02:41 PM
ccarlin ccarlin is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 968
Re: Community Web Admin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saavik View Post
Based on your questions I deleted cookies, disabled security, and closed the browser (that was the key). Reinstalled the updates and it all worked.
I am now back to the point where the library will not display at all. It was working with the last update because the last view I used was the by series view. When I deleted cookies it defaulted to the all shows view and that seems to be broken.
I love the user based security, I really missed that when SS dropped it.
Thanks again for all your hard work.
I'm not sure if I could help or not but if there is something you need help with let me know.

Well I didn't say disable security I was just curious about it. I am running with the security no problem. I would like to know what kind of problems you are seeing with the library page? Maybe post a screen shot if it is something visible.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4000+
3 Gig RAM
80GB WD
1TB WD
2TB Samsung (5900RPM)
1.5TB External
Happauge WinTV PVR-1600
Happauge WinTV PVR-2250 (Dual ATSC)
Vista Ultimate - ATI 3450
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:25 PM
Saavik's Avatar
Saavik Saavik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to Saavik
Re: Community Web Admin

I re-enabled security after I installed it and all of that seems to work.
The library page just gives me the Internet Explorer can not display the web page. The last version did the same thing on the all shows view, but the by series view worked if it was the last view you used before upgrading. When I cleared cookies (I assume) the default view went back to the all shows view, so I can't tell if the by series works or not.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Shuttle AN35N-400 Nvidia nforce2 400+MCP motherboard
AMD Athlon XP2100 CPU
768MB 266 DDR RAM/ pc2100
Gforce 2 32 meg video card with TV out
2 Hauppauge PVR150MCE
10 gig drive for OS
200 gig 7200 rpm
Firefly Mini
60" Big Screen TV

ECS P4M800PRO-M, Intel Core 2 4300
1 GIG RAM
ATI Radeon 9700 128 meg video card with TV out
3 Hauppauge PVR150MCE
1 Hauppauge Win TV USB (for steaming)
10 gig drive for OS
300 gig 7200 rpm
ATI Remote Wonder
27" TV
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 10-24-2007, 04:23 PM
ccarlin ccarlin is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 968
Re: Community Web Admin

I do see the same thing with internet explorer, I believe it has something to do with the enabling/disabling the cookies. To be honest I always use Firefox as my browser.

To fix the issue for now goto the Settings/Advanced Player Settings http://...:8129/SetupPlayer.aspx and Save your settings from there to set the cookie and it should work in IE after that.

And then access the page directly by using shortcuts... Library?load=Folders&path=<INSERT FOLDER NAME HERE>
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4000+
3 Gig RAM
80GB WD
1TB WD
2TB Samsung (5900RPM)
1.5TB External
Happauge WinTV PVR-1600
Happauge WinTV PVR-2250 (Dual ATSC)
Vista Ultimate - ATI 3450

Last edited by ccarlin; 10-24-2007 at 04:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 10-24-2007, 05:58 PM
ccarlin ccarlin is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 968
Re: Community Web Admin

I found what the exact situation to cause the problem is, however I have absolutely no idea why it happens. If you try to load "All Shows" via Internet Explorer you will see that error page. If you get to the library page using the methods I mentioned above you can click on either by folder or by library and that will set the cookie to do that by default then you can access the library from then on. Note: All of this works fine on Firefox, Opera and Safari.

I tried debugging and it seems like it made it thru all the code without any issues than the error page displays instead. No idea why?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4000+
3 Gig RAM
80GB WD
1TB WD
2TB Samsung (5900RPM)
1.5TB External
Happauge WinTV PVR-1600
Happauge WinTV PVR-2250 (Dual ATSC)
Vista Ultimate - ATI 3450
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 10-24-2007, 06:09 PM
Saavik's Avatar
Saavik Saavik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to Saavik
Re: Community Web Admin

How are you forming the shortcut ... not working for me here

http://jdw:8129/Library.aspx Library ?load=Folders&path=<Shows>

Is this or should this be correct.
__________________
Shuttle AN35N-400 Nvidia nforce2 400+MCP motherboard
AMD Athlon XP2100 CPU
768MB 266 DDR RAM/ pc2100
Gforce 2 32 meg video card with TV out
2 Hauppauge PVR150MCE
10 gig drive for OS
200 gig 7200 rpm
Firefly Mini
60" Big Screen TV

ECS P4M800PRO-M, Intel Core 2 4300
1 GIG RAM
ATI Radeon 9700 128 meg video card with TV out
3 Hauppauge PVR150MCE
1 Hauppauge Win TV USB (for steaming)
10 gig drive for OS
300 gig 7200 rpm
ATI Remote Wonder
27" TV
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 10-24-2007, 06:12 PM
ccarlin ccarlin is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 968
Re: Community Web Admin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saavik View Post
How are you forming the shortcut ... not working for me here

http://jdw:8129/Library.aspx Library ?load=Folders&path=<Shows>

Is this or should this be correct.
Remove the <> from the Shows and it is case sensative so it must be Shows not shows.

http://jdw:8129/Library.aspx?load=Folders&path=Shows
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4000+
3 Gig RAM
80GB WD
1TB WD
2TB Samsung (5900RPM)
1.5TB External
Happauge WinTV PVR-1600
Happauge WinTV PVR-2250 (Dual ATSC)
Vista Ultimate - ATI 3450
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 10-24-2007, 07:59 PM
ccarlin ccarlin is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 968
Re: Community Web Admin

More info. Has nothing to do with the All Shows directly. Basically it appears if the amount of data is too much then Internet Explorer drops the session (or something to that effect).

No other browser appears to have this limitation.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4000+
3 Gig RAM
80GB WD
1TB WD
2TB Samsung (5900RPM)
1.5TB External
Happauge WinTV PVR-1600
Happauge WinTV PVR-2250 (Dual ATSC)
Vista Ultimate - ATI 3450
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:33 PM
Saavik's Avatar
Saavik Saavik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to Saavik
Re: Community Web Admin

That makes sense I have a lot of shows, IE will not display any Library info. Firefox works but is not my favorite browser. I can get by with what you have done. Thanks a lot
__________________
Shuttle AN35N-400 Nvidia nforce2 400+MCP motherboard
AMD Athlon XP2100 CPU
768MB 266 DDR RAM/ pc2100
Gforce 2 32 meg video card with TV out
2 Hauppauge PVR150MCE
10 gig drive for OS
200 gig 7200 rpm
Firefly Mini
60" Big Screen TV

ECS P4M800PRO-M, Intel Core 2 4300
1 GIG RAM
ATI Radeon 9700 128 meg video card with TV out
3 Hauppauge PVR150MCE
1 Hauppauge Win TV USB (for steaming)
10 gig drive for OS
300 gig 7200 rpm
ATI Remote Wonder
27" TV
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:55 PM
ccarlin ccarlin is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 968
Re: Community Web Admin

I wonder if this problem exists for people not using the community version of the web admin. The only real difference would be the extra bytes from the inline menus.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4000+
3 Gig RAM
80GB WD
1TB WD
2TB Samsung (5900RPM)
1.5TB External
Happauge WinTV PVR-1600
Happauge WinTV PVR-2250 (Dual ATSC)
Vista Ultimate - ATI 3450
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 11-12-2007, 09:38 PM
ccarlin ccarlin is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 968
Re: Community Web Admin

I have a new update. This version includes a new page which really doesn't do anything yet, but I hope to eventually replace the library page with it. The page is home.aspx and it basically is similar to the library page except it uses more standard asp.net constructs. It makes use of the asp.net grid control which has support for paging and sorting. Also the underlying data source is a standard dataview which will eventually allow me to add in searching/filtering to it.

So while this doesn't do anything new I would still love some feedback on the new page. I know it currently has a bunch of useability quirks mainly because of a couple of bugs in some of the asp.net control but when I get the time I will figure a way around those issues.

So again here it is (backup original wwwroot and unzip this ontop). Let me know what you think.

The new page is http://localhost:8129/Home.aspx (replace localhost with your machine name for remote access).
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4000+
3 Gig RAM
80GB WD
1TB WD
2TB Samsung (5900RPM)
1.5TB External
Happauge WinTV PVR-1600
Happauge WinTV PVR-2250 (Dual ATSC)
Vista Ultimate - ATI 3450

Last edited by ccarlin; 11-19-2007 at 09:28 PM. Reason: Removed ond zip
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 11-14-2007, 08:47 PM
ccarlin ccarlin is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 968
Re: Community Web Admin

Ok this one does the filter/search. I have not attached the menus and functionality to it yet. I am thinking of using a toolbar across the top in place of the dropdown menu. And then add in some type of hover menu whenever you click on a row with the options for that row.

Still haven't heard any feedback for the few that have downloaded it.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4000+
3 Gig RAM
80GB WD
1TB WD
2TB Samsung (5900RPM)
1.5TB External
Happauge WinTV PVR-1600
Happauge WinTV PVR-2250 (Dual ATSC)
Vista Ultimate - ATI 3450

Last edited by ccarlin; 11-19-2007 at 09:28 PM. Reason: Removed old zip
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 11-14-2007, 09:42 PM
cfaslave cfaslave is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 2,772
Re: Community Web Admin

Haven't had time to try it, but hopefully I can take a look this weekend.
__________________
HTPC and all-around Gadget Junkie

Geek Tonic Blog

Follow me on Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 11-15-2007, 08:21 AM
eMpTy3000's Avatar
eMpTy3000 eMpTy3000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 291
Re: Community Web Admin

It looks different, and I'm not sure if I like it. The current library page is very easy to read. It is easy to see the episodes (bold) / descriptions (non-bold). Also I like how the Library.aspx page has the colors change more pronouncedly for each show. That would be nice on the Home.aspx page. Also, with the Home.aspx page the episode title and description all run together and it is hard to distinguish. I'm interested to see what you can do with the options functionality. I would also love to see some AJAX with the filter box so that as you type in letters it automatically filters the list. That wouldn't be too difficult would it?

Thanks! You do great work!

Last edited by eMpTy3000; 11-15-2007 at 08:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 11-15-2007, 08:27 AM
eMpTy3000's Avatar
eMpTy3000 eMpTy3000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 291
Re: Community Web Admin

Also, the "Update View" button is not vertically aligned properly. I think it should be aligned with the filter text box. You should also have a button to reset the filter so that all shows are shown again.
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 11-15-2007, 08:29 AM
eMpTy3000's Avatar
eMpTy3000 eMpTy3000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 291
Re: Community Web Admin

I guess the "Update View" button kind of makes sense where it is since the drop down menus appear as you click on the radio buttons, but since the drop down menu is not there to start off with it kind of looks strange - your call.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Web Admin Community Version ccarlin Beyond TV 4.x 0 09-19-2007 06:12 PM
4.3 Web Admin - Community Supported? shihchiun Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link 7 05-01-2007 09:19 PM
Community Web Admin Requests ccarlin Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link 18 04-29-2007 01:57 PM
Community Web Admin Suggestions? ccarlin Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link 19 12-04-2006 08:51 PM
Web Admin Community tofin SnapStream Discussion 1 10-26-2006 01:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2004-2009 Snapstream Media
You Rated this Thread: