SnapStream Forums

Go Back   SnapStream Forums > SnapStream Discussion
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2004, 03:17 PM
Rich2245 Rich2245 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Question Windows Media Center Remote

Does anyone know if the Windows Media Center Remote will work with Beyond TV.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2004, 03:30 PM
mcowger mcowger is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to mcowger
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

Well, it will work fine with Girder for sure, so it will work with BTV.
__________________
System Specs
nMedia, BTV 4.71, Harmony 880 Remote
Core 2 Duo 2.16
1GB DDR2 RAM
nVidia GeForce 7900
Hauppauge PVR 150 (OEM), PVR 250 (Retail), HDHR w/ ClearQAM
2x 200GB RAID0 Array (Data), 250GB (OS)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2004, 03:58 PM
Bryce Bryce is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 96
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich2245
Does anyone know if the Windows Media Center Remote will work with Beyond TV.
i know that back when my boss was playing around with mce 2004, the mce remote would control almost all of btv (3.4 at the time) functions..
________
XV1100

Last edited by Bryce; 01-19-2011 at 10:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2004, 04:56 PM
PBMax's Avatar
PBMax PBMax is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 2,594
Send a message via ICQ to PBMax Send a message via AIM to PBMax Send a message via Yahoo to PBMax
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

Yes it will.
__________________
HTPC setup:
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 x2 4200+ | Motherboard: ASUS A8N-VM | RAM: 1GB DDR400 | Tuner: Hauppauge PVR500 | Graphics card: Onboard NVIDIA GeForce 6150 | Sound Card: Onboard ADI AD1986A via SPDIF | Hard Drives(1040GB Total): 1x Seagate 40GB - 4x Maxtor 250GB | Samsung 16x DL DVD+-R | Display: Panasonic PT-50LC13 50" LCD RPTV HDTV via HD15 | OS: Windows XP Pro SP-2 | Wireless Keyboard and Mouse | Remote: FireFly
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2004, 09:45 AM
Rich2245 Rich2245 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2004, 10:13 AM
BankZ BankZ is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 559
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

Is there anyway to remap the keys on the MCE remote to different BTV functions?
__________________
P3 1ghz, 512M RAM, Windows XP Pro, SP2, SB Live 5.1, 2 x PVR-250 (ivac 16), PVR-500, NVidia 5600XT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:55 PM
portal45 portal45 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 101
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

Which keys on the MCE2005 remote do NOT work for BTV out of the box?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:20 PM
BankZ BankZ is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 559
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

I think they all work.
__________________
P3 1ghz, 512M RAM, Windows XP Pro, SP2, SB Live 5.1, 2 x PVR-250 (ivac 16), PVR-500, NVidia 5600XT
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2005, 08:56 AM
massimj massimj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 58
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

One important difference is that the FireFly is an RF remote, not IR. Also, there are two models of the Microsoft IR remote, one that will work up to 10 feet away, and one that will do 20. The Firefly doesn't have to have line of site with the PVR, and I think it works up to 30 feet, even through walls. This would be good if you wanted to put your PVR in another room and feed the cable system in your house. I did this with Dish when I bought RF remotes for it. RF is the way to go. Joe
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2005, 11:38 AM
BankZ BankZ is offline
l33t Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 559
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

I like IR better cause you can buy cheap "learning" IR remotes and have just one remote.
__________________
P3 1ghz, 512M RAM, Windows XP Pro, SP2, SB Live 5.1, 2 x PVR-250 (ivac 16), PVR-500, NVidia 5600XT
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:15 PM
portal45 portal45 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 101
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

Others are saying that they've used key remapping software to remap the green button (with windows logo on it). They are saying that pressing this button initially is like pressing the Windows key on a keyboard.

QUESTION: I'm using the MCE 2005 remote below (I bought from newegg) and the green button (with windows logo on it) doesn't seem to be linked to the Windows key on the keyboard. Maybe these people are talking about the older MCE remotes???

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:25 AM
iangoodsell iangoodsell is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

I really like the FireFly remote, but it would be perfect if they would make the next one have one "learning" ir button: so you could turn the tv on and off without having to use a second remote. I would have bought 2 fireflys if they had this button.

I just purchased a MCE 2005 remote which has learning keys for TV power and Volume Up / Down for the television (nice, but not necessary in my case). I'll post results of my testing here. MS was really thinking about the wife acceptance factor in this case...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-24-2005, 12:02 AM
ezryder ezryder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

I'm having difficulty finding out if an MCE 2005 remote will work with BTV and BMedia - appears it will, but I can't seem to get the IR Blaster that comes with the MCE 2005 remote to work.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-24-2005, 07:37 AM
gplasky gplasky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 47
Re: Windows Media Center Remote

As of right now only MCE 2005/4 can utilize the balsting capabilities of the MCE receiver.

portal45
SP2 got rid of the function of the Green button pulling up the Start menu. If you have SP1 it still works that way. Definitely w/2004 remote. Didn't try 2005 remote.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-24-2005, 01:15 PM
ezryder ezryder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Red face Re: Windows Media Center Remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky
As of right now only MCE 2005/4 can utilize the balsting capabilities of the MCE receiver.
Gerry
Major bummer. So, will the MCE 2005 remote I have work with some other blaster, and if so, which ones? Thanks!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Media Center Remote and BTV Javiermi Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link 12 11-17-2007 03:57 PM
Win XP or Windows Media Center Ken429 Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forum 9 02-19-2006 08:34 AM
Will Beyond TV V4.X run under Windows Media Center jdawson Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link 4 01-08-2006 07:59 PM
Windows Media Center + Beyond TV3 hurljf SnapStream Discussion 3 09-03-2004 02:24 PM
BTV vs Windows Media Center tzice21 Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forum 11 07-09-2004 03:02 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2004-2009 Snapstream Media
You Rated this Thread: