SnapStream Forums

Go Back   SnapStream Forums > SnapStream Discussion
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 4.75 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2003, 04:02 PM
archie's Avatar
archie archie is offline
skipping commercials
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: atlanta, ga
Posts: 233
don't buy nvdvd. save $40 and make intervideo decoder work for you!

i searched the forums and only found one note (that got no further attention) on something that will get the decoder that came with the pvr cards to work at very low cpu cycles. i'm getting lower cpu usage with the included intervideo decoder than with nvdvd, and it is free!

i had not installed any of the hauppage software, so i went to the hauppage software download site and installed the hauppage video decoder.

i then changed the two following keys by using the "run" command, opening "regedit" (without the quotes) and navigating to the two following places in the same folder. i right clicked each, hit modify, and entered the value "1" for each.

HKLM \ Software \ IviSDK4Hauppauge \ Common \ VideoDec \ Dxva

HKLM \ Software \ IviSDK4Hauppauge \ Common \ VideoDec \ Hwmc

for older decoders, the location is:

HKLM \ Software \ Intervideo \ Custom \ Hauppauge \ VideoDec \ Dxva

HKLM \ Software \ Intervideo \ Custom \ Hauppauge \ VideoDec \ Hwmc

[edit] HKLM = HKey Local Machine[/edit]

with this very simple "hack," i essentially turned on the hardware acceleration available in my somewhat older ati 8500dv video card. now live tv uses less than 20% cpu where i was getting about 80% with the default ss decoder and about 20-30% with nvdvd trial.

this is very easy to do, and everyone (with a huappage card) should be comfortable following the steps above to get a better decoder for free.

also of note - i no longer have the black bars on the side of the video that had been plaguing me and others.

i found the tweak following the link from nielm's 10-8 post, and i hope others will benefit from it as i have. and save $40!

[edit]anyone else having success with this? just curious.[/edit]
__________________
AMD 2100+ | Abit KG-7 RAID | PVR-350 | ATI AIW 8500DV + ATI 7000 | 512 MB PC2100 Ram
IBM 40 GB 7200 ATA 100 x 2 RAID | Seagate 120 & 200 GB
SoundBlaster 5.1 Value| BTV 3.5.0 | Win XP SP-1 updated

Last edited by archie; 10-19-2003 at 06:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2003, 12:47 AM
codeit999 codeit999 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 123
where in the registry did you find the HKLM entries? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2003, 01:47 AM
V_D_O's Avatar
V_D_O V_D_O is offline
Senior Nuisance
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,385
HKLM is the HKey Local Machine set of entries.
__________________
V_D_O

Processor: Intel P4 2.4B | RAM: 512MB DDR266 | Motherboard: Intel D845GBV2 | Graphics cards: 2x GeForce FX 5200 | Sound card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS | Tuner cards: Hauppauge WinTV Theatre, Adaptec VideOh! DVD MC USB2, Hauppauge WinTV PVR USB2 | Hard drives: Western Digital 40GB & 250GB 7200RPM 8MB cache | OS: Windows XP Pro SP1 | Remote: SS FireFly | Network: 100Mb/s wired & 54Mb/s 802.11g wireless | Video sources: DVB satellite receiver (IR by MyBlaster) & analogue cable
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2003, 01:53 AM
codeit999 codeit999 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 123
v_d_o,
thanks...
I changed my registry entries.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2003, 09:46 AM
plblack plblack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vermont
Posts: 17
Greetings,

I just tried this "hack" on my machine and it seems to work fine.

At first I wasn't seeing any difference in usage at all, it being around 40%. Then I realized that for some reason I had set SS for software de-interlacing. I changed this to none and the usage dropped to below 20%.

Which brings up a sort of off topic question: If you are viewing on a computer monitor, does de-interlacing make any difference in the picture quality? I tried changing from software to none to hardware and back to none but didn't seem to see any major difference in picture.

Regards,

Patrick
__________________
Athlon 2100+
512 megs ram
ATI Radeon 9000 Pro
Hauppauge PVR-250 (very nice)
2 60gig Maxtor HD
Memorex Dual Format DVD+-RW
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2003, 10:12 AM
cmasters cmasters is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 492
If you are watching on a computer monitor you must deinterlace. Unless you have a Matrox or can live with seeing some scanlines you have to deinterlace for TV out as well (untill SS supports some kind of hardware decoding and output). Since you are using the Hauppauge drivers and they are doing the deinterlacing I am not sure if the SS deinterlace settings make a difference. Unless it was deinterlacing twice.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2003, 11:25 AM
plblack plblack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vermont
Posts: 17
Greetings,

Ah, that makes sense. I had forgotten when using a 3rd party decoder that the de-interlacing would be handled there rather than through the Snapstream settings.

Thanks,

Patrick
__________________
Athlon 2100+
512 megs ram
ATI Radeon 9000 Pro
Hauppauge PVR-250 (very nice)
2 60gig Maxtor HD
Memorex Dual Format DVD+-RW
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2003, 12:55 PM
V_D_O's Avatar
V_D_O V_D_O is offline
Senior Nuisance
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,385
I don't have access to my machine atm, but does this reduce CPU usage on NVIDIA cards as well? Just while deinterlacing or otherwise too? Because, since I output to a TV, deinterlacing is unneccessary.

Patrick, deinterlacing only makes a difference if you are capturing full res (i.e. 640 or 720). If you are capturing half vertical res (i.e. 320 or 360), it will have no effect.
__________________
V_D_O

Processor: Intel P4 2.4B | RAM: 512MB DDR266 | Motherboard: Intel D845GBV2 | Graphics cards: 2x GeForce FX 5200 | Sound card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS | Tuner cards: Hauppauge WinTV Theatre, Adaptec VideOh! DVD MC USB2, Hauppauge WinTV PVR USB2 | Hard drives: Western Digital 40GB & 250GB 7200RPM 8MB cache | OS: Windows XP Pro SP1 | Remote: SS FireFly | Network: 100Mb/s wired & 54Mb/s 802.11g wireless | Video sources: DVB satellite receiver (IR by MyBlaster) & analogue cable
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2003, 02:19 PM
cmasters cmasters is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 492
Let me know if you figure it out, but as far as I know you can't turn off deinterlacing with the Haupppauge Intervideo codec.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-20-2003, 01:32 PM
exorcism's Avatar
exorcism exorcism is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 213
Re: don't buy nvdvd. save $40 and make intervideo decoder work for you!

Quote:
Originally posted by archie
i searched the forums and only found one note (that got no further attention) on something that will get the decoder that came with the pvr cards to work at very low cpu cycles. i'm getting lower cpu usage with the included intervideo decoder than with nvdvd, and it is free!

i had not installed any of the hauppage software, so i went to the hauppage software download site and installed the hauppage video decoder.

i then changed the two following keys by using the "run" command, opening "regedit" (without the quotes) and navigating to the two following places in the same folder. i right clicked each, hit modify, and entered the value "1" for each.

HKLM \ Software \ IviSDK4Hauppauge \ Common \ VideoDec \ Dxva

HKLM \ Software \ IviSDK4Hauppauge \ Common \ VideoDec \ Hwmc

for older decoders, the location is:

HKLM \ Software \ Intervideo \ Custom \ Hauppauge \ VideoDec \ Dxva

HKLM \ Software \ Intervideo \ Custom \ Hauppauge \ VideoDec \ Hwmc

[edit] HKLM = HKey Local Machine[/edit]

with this very simple "hack," i essentially turned on the hardware acceleration available in my somewhat older ati 8500dv video card. now live tv uses less than 20% cpu where i was getting about 80% with the default ss decoder and about 20-30% with nvdvd trial.

this is very easy to do, and everyone (with a huappage card) should be comfortable following the steps above to get a better decoder for free.

also of note - i no longer have the black bars on the side of the video that had been plaguing me and others.

i found the tweak following the link from nielm's 10-8 post, and i hope others will benefit from it as i have. and save $40!

[edit]anyone else having success with this? just curious.[/edit]
Maybe that works fine and dandy for your ATi card, but nothing I've used decodes mpeg-2 *with deinterlacing* with as little cpu as nvdvd, but then, it's on a quality nvidia card, not an ati card
__________________
[size=1]PC1:
Athlon XP 2200+ (Tbred) @ 1.9GHz/400 - 512MB 400/DC - Asus A7N8X - Verto 6800GT 256MB/8x - Audigy 2 ZS - WinTV-PVR-250 - Maxtor 160GB 8MB 7200RPM ATA-133 - Pioneer 16x DVD-RW/DL A08XL ATA-66 - Windows XP Pro sp2 - dx9c - .net - FW 61.77 - nForce 4.27
Scores:
3DMark00: 13537 - 3DMark01: 16042 - 3DMark03: 10002 - 3DMark05: 3714 - PCMark02: CPU: 5877 Mem: 5541 HDD: 1155 - PCMark04: 3261 - AquaMark3: 48199 GFX: 7518 CPU: 6712
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-20-2003, 05:11 PM
MannyTC MannyTC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 381
I tried it the other night and it works great. I seem to have about the same CPU usage with this reg hack and the Hauppauge decoder as I do with NVDVD.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-22-2003, 05:23 PM
DonK's Avatar
DonK DonK is offline
Just another Bloke
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,827
This is an old hack

It was posted on SageTV's forums a long time ago, and the results are questionable sometimes... I know mine wasn't stellar.
__________________
BTV Server - HP DC7700c vPro - Dual Core Intel - 2gb ram - Adaptec AVC-3610 (2 SD tuners) - 4x Avermedia Volar USB OTA/ATSC HD tuners, HDHomeRun OTA mode, WHS, 6x1tB drives, 3x2tb drives (12tb total space)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-22-2003, 05:55 PM
cmasters cmasters is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 492
It is not a hack, hardware assist decoding and color acceleration is being enabled. If you used the full version of Invervideo WinDVD you could use their player to edit those registry settings. It will only work as well as your video card can handle the features. Newer cards get more benefit out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-22-2003, 06:14 PM
DonK's Avatar
DonK DonK is offline
Just another Bloke
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,827
"Hack" isn't a bad word

Don't take my statement the wrong way, a registry hack is a registry hack. You're making changes without using the standard interface built into Hauppauge's drivers or gui.

I've tried it using a Radeon 9700 Pro, a GeForce 4, GeForce 3, and GeForce 2, and I never saw any great improvements. If it works for you guys, well hey, that's all that matters. Kudos to you for finding a good use for it.

Of course, I am also using a PVR250. That may be the difference here. There may be stability reasons why Hauppauge didn't provide the ability to tweak those settings referenced because they're thinking that people won't be using the codec without their hardware.

Also, you're using drivers that are'nt supposed to be meant for anything else but PVR250 users, so of course you might see possible improvements in playback because there isn't any interface with the PVR250 hardware since it isn't present, and you're using an optimized mpg2 codec that probably expects the hardware to be there.

Interesting application of resources though, I'll have to try it on my non-pvr250 test box.
__________________
BTV Server - HP DC7700c vPro - Dual Core Intel - 2gb ram - Adaptec AVC-3610 (2 SD tuners) - 4x Avermedia Volar USB OTA/ATSC HD tuners, HDHomeRun OTA mode, WHS, 6x1tB drives, 3x2tb drives (12tb total space)

Last edited by Weezul; 10-22-2003 at 06:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-22-2003, 06:26 PM
cmasters cmasters is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 492
Quote:
Don't take my statement the wrong way, a registry hack is a registry hack. You're making changes without using the standard interface built into Hauppauge's drivers or gui.
You mean Intervideo. Hauppauge just bundles the decoder with their cards.

With hardware acceleration on, on my P3 1000 I get about 8% CPU usage when playing back MPEG2 files with my Radion 9000. With my nVidia 4200 it makes almost no difference and playback is at abour 40%. With my 5200 FX I get about 10%.

Having since upgraded to Intervideo WinDVD5 I get the same results so probably nothing new has been done there.

This has been posted before but here it is again for anyone using the Hauppauge distributed Intervideo codecs.

http://home.student.utwente.nl/g.j.b...reg.html#weave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia DVD vs Intervideo NonCSS Decoder pamisano SnapStream Discussion 8 02-12-2005 09:41 PM
Help setting up Intervideo Video Decoder bow Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forum 0 11-23-2004 12:51 PM
intervideo non-css decoder brian19876 Beyond TV and Beyond TV Link User-to-User Troubleshooting & Support Forum 4 03-08-2004 11:46 AM
Intervideo / nvDVD hangs Sef SnapStream Discussion 23 11-13-2003 01:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2004-2009 Snapstream Media
You Rated this Thread: