PDA

View Full Version : Request: Video Resizer


teknoprep
06-18-2006, 11:30 PM
I have been using BeyondTV for some time now, and love it. I just got a 20" Dell Widescreen LCD, and would like to see future releases of BeyondTV stretch the square picture into a 16x10 format. I can do this with VLC after I record TV shows with BeyondTV, but not directly in the program while watching live TV.

It doesn't distort the picture as much as one would think, and it uses the real-estate of the screen more effectively. Since more and more people are getting widescreens, this would be a good option for BeyondTV to encorporate.

Thanks!

Fonceur
06-19-2006, 01:33 AM
You can do that yourself, just shutdown BTV, edit the (hidden) file:

C:\Document and Settings\All Users\Application Data\SnapStream\Beyond TV\CustomSettings.xml

and change the aspect ratio 16:9 into a 16:10 (or create a new 16:10 entry). Then restart BTV and voila...

teknoprep
06-19-2006, 12:29 PM
I actually didn't know about this feature already being built in..

Before modifing that file, I wanted to try the 16x9 format, but I couldn't change it (see attached picture). Nothing pops up under "Aspect Ratio", when I try to change it nothing appears.

teknoprep
06-20-2006, 11:32 AM
Is there anything I can do to make the aspect ratio option appear?

I changed the Deinterlacing to hardware - it still still pop up.

Any hidden settings that might not be allowing the aspect ratio setting to popup?

Thanks!

nanook105
06-20-2006, 12:55 PM
Have you tried clicking in the < or > to see if there are other values in the list ?

teknoprep
06-20-2006, 10:09 PM
I did, nothing is available...it won't let me change to anything, it just stays blank.

I have also searched through the BTV Web Admin to find other settings, but could not find anything.

teknoprep
06-21-2006, 07:17 PM
any advice?

pushing < and > doesn't do anything, it stays blank.

Fonceur
06-21-2006, 08:44 PM
Try to re-run the installation wizard or maybe to re-install... It seems your configuration is hosed...

teknoprep
06-21-2006, 11:17 PM
Could someone attach their CustomSettings.xml (zip it up)?

Thanks!

cmcquistion
06-24-2006, 09:23 AM
Here you go.

teknoprep
06-25-2006, 12:06 AM
Thanks cmcquistion:

I tried that, no go, and I tried reinstalling BTW, still no go.

How can I get the aspect ratio to change? It stays blank, even when pressing < or >.

Maybe theres another hidden setting?

bnflaherty
06-25-2006, 09:41 AM
Refer to this article -- and you should be all set: http://snapstream.helpserve.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=1174

nba1341
06-27-2006, 08:23 PM
btw if you just got a dell 2007WFP make sure you read this (http://forums.us.dell.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=dim_monitor&message.id=57101) about getting it replaced if you got the banding problem one

teknoprep
06-28-2006, 06:57 PM
bnflaherty:

thanks - that fixed the problem - it was a corrupt language file.

nba1341:

thanks for the advice - i ordered my replacement a couple of weeks ago and just got it...i gotta give Dell props for their outstanding support.

merrypig
06-28-2006, 09:28 PM
btw if you just got a dell 2007WFP make sure you read this (http://forums.us.dell.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=dim_monitor&message.id=57101) about getting it replaced if you got the banding problem one

Hmm . that message was deleted. Got a summary?

kandlg
06-28-2006, 10:48 PM
Article from Geek Island dated 5/26/06:

After receiving reports of severe color banding issues on certain users’ new 2007WFP LCD displays, Dell looked into the issue, found the problem to be pretty rare, and caused by the monitor’s active color management chip which switches between desktop, multimedia and gaming modes. Turns out the reported banding is caused by the “desktop” mode, and Dell has now updated the firmware to disable this mode. Dell has provided contact information for help with the firmware fix, and will also straight up replace your 2007WFP if you’d like. The roughly one month response time from rumblings to solution could be improved, but it’s good to see a company take at least some responsibility for its faulty products.

teknoprep
06-29-2006, 11:47 PM
New thread:

http://forums.us.dell.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=dim_monitor&message.id=56619&view=by_date_ascending&page=1

Basically, if you need your monitor replaced, PM ChrisM with your information, and he'll send you a brand new monitor, and a prepaid mailer to ship the old one back. The new one has the banding/blurry issue fixed, A01 or A02, I believe.

Thanks guys!

nba1341
06-30-2006, 03:12 PM
New thread:

http://forums.us.dell.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=dim_monitor&message.id=56619&view=by_date_ascending&page=1

Basically, if you need your monitor replaced, PM ChrisM with your information, and he'll send you a brand new monitor, and a prepaid mailer to ship the old one back. The new one has the banding/blurry issue fixed, A01 or A02, I believe.

Thanks guys!

if you pm Chris he will send you an A02 for sure
the change log from A00,A01,A02 was posted somewhere